Europe's sovereignty bet, funded by discount groceries
Lidl and Kaufland money is funding a European cloud. Here is what is running, and what is still a construction site.
discount groceries pay for europe's furthest-along attempt at a hyperscaler. schwarz gruppe, owner of lidl and kaufland, reported EUR 185.6bn of revenue for the year to february 2026 1. its cloud arm, stackit, runs two cloud regions and publishes no megawatt figure. lidl alone earned EUR 2,281m net profit in the year to 28 february 2025, with no listed equity and no outside shareholder. the EUR 11bn lübbenau data centre broke ground in november 2025, first phase due end 2027 7.
§ the money
The key figures
Tap anything for the exact figure, its status and its source.
EUR 185.6bn
Group revenue, FY2025 (year to feb 2026)
The retail business turns that into profit
EUR 2,546m
Audited retail net profit, fy2024: Lidl EUR 2,281m plus Kaufland EUR 265m. That is about 1.4% of the revenue bar above, and a different fiscal year.
And then it spends multiples of that
Profit against investment, at their own scale
audited retail net profit Fy2024
EUR 2,546m
group investment Planned FY2026
More than EUR 10bn
The investment programme runs at roughly four times the audited retail net profit. The two figures are different fiscal years and different perimeters, so read the ratio as an order of magnitude, not a precise multiple.
A slice of which is the data centre
EUR 11bn
Lübbenau, announced. A lifecycle figure covering planning, construction and operations over an unstated period. Not capex, and not comparable to the annual investment above.
schwarz digits is EUR 2.2bn, about 1.2% of the groupThe other 98.8% is Lidl, Kaufland, prezero and media. Tap for the figure and its source.
The grocery business pays for the cloud business. The companies of Schwarz Group reported EUR 185.6bn of revenue for the year to end February 2026, up 5.8 percent from EUR 175.4bn, across 604,000 employees, 217,000 of them in Germany 1. Lidl store revenue was EUR 140.2bn, up 6.1 percent; Kaufland EUR 36.7bn, up 4.3 percent; Schwarz Produktion EUR 5.7bn, up 23.9 percent; PreZero EUR 4.1bn; Schwarz Digits, the IT arm, EUR 2.2bn, up 15.8 percent. Those add to EUR 188.9bn against a stated EUR 185.6bn, and the group does not reconcile the EUR 3.3bn gap.
Store revenue is a gross retail measure. For the prior year the group reported Lidl store revenue of EUR 132.1bn while the audited accounts report Umsatzerlöse of EUR 94,727m, a gap of about EUR 37.4bn, or 39.5 percent, unreconciled 4041.
Audited Lidl: revenue EUR 94,727m, up 6.9 percent; net profit EUR 2,281m, up 21.7 percent; capex EUR 3,764m; net financial debt down from EUR 12,477m to EUR 9,941m. Kaufland: revenue EUR 32,928m, up 3.2 percent; EBIT EUR 600m, down 7.4 percent; net profit EUR 265m, down 31.7 percent; management blames maintenance and collective wage settlements 42.
Group investment was about EUR 9bn in FY2025, EUR 3.7bn in Germany, with more than EUR 10bn planned for FY2026, about EUR 5bn in Germany.
§ 02
No shareholders, no quarterly clock
No audited consolidated Schwarz Gruppe account is public. Lidl Stiftung & Co. KG (Amtsgericht Stuttgart HRA 102314) and Kaufland Stiftung & Co. KG (HRA 102851) each file their own top-level Konzernabschluss under the Publizitätsgesetz. There is no audited group-level profit, cash flow, net debt or capex figure. The EUR 185.6bn is a management aggregate.
Lidl received a qualified opinion for the year to 28 February 2025, sole basis: no disclosure of governing-body remuneration under section 314(1)(6a) HGB. Kaufland's is clean 43.
Ownership is unconfirmed. As reported, Dieter Schwarz transferred 99.9 percent of shares to the Dieter Schwarz Stiftung, with 100 percent of voting rights at Schwarz Unternehmenstreuhand KG. The claim traces to Handelsblatt via German Wikipedia; check handelsregister.de.
The foundation put EUR 50m into IPAI, matched by EUR 50m from Baden-Württemberg 44. That is not Schwarz Digits capex.
Gerd Chrzanowski took the general partner mandate on 1 December 2021 and is quoted in the 11 June 2026 results release.
§ 03
It built the cloud for itself before it sold it
STACKIT was built in 2018 for Schwarz IT's own use, launched externally in 2022, and became its own legal entity in 2024.
Schwarz Digits was created on 29 September 2023 as the group's fifth division, about 7,500 employees across eight units including Schwarz IT, STACKIT, XM Cyber and the Lidl and Kaufland e-commerce arms. XM Cyber cost USD 700m in November 2021. Co-CEO Christian Müller said the group offers IT solutions to third parties only once they are stable in its own infrastructure.
The EUR 2.2bn figure covers the whole division. Lidl and Kaufland online revenue alone was EUR 1.7bn in FY2025, flat year on year 1. No STACKIT-only revenue appears in any Schwarz release.
The one audited filing, Schwarz Digits KG for 1 March 2023 to 29 February 2024, shows revenue EUR 323.4m, EBIT minus EUR 253.2m, net loss EUR 282.5m, funded intra-group.
§ 04
What STACKIT actually ships today
STACKIT's documentation lists roughly 35 named services across about ten categories, from Kubernetes and managed PostgreSQL to object storage and AI model serving 45. Against AWS, Azure and Google Cloud it lacks depth, global regions and GPU fleet; our assessment, unsourced.
It publishes two regions, eu01 in Germany and eu02 in Austria, and three data centres: DC01 Neckarsulm, DC08 Ellhofen, DC10 Ostermiething 8. Lübbenau is described as its fifth data centre. Heise reported on 21 July 2026 that STACKIT operates two data centres in Baden-Württemberg. No site's IT load in megawatts is disclosed. Claims of roughly 120 MW scaling to 1 GW by 2027 trace to no primary source.
The compute engine GPU page lists hourly pricing in eu01 from about EUR 1.74 to about EUR 64.33, up to eight GPUs per VM. The silicon is not named and fleet size is not disclosed.
STACKIT publishes twelve references 46; two are internal schwarz workloads, keycloak and self-EDI for Lidl and Kaufland.
The catalogue: roughly 35 named services across about ten categories
Eu01 Germany, eu02 Austria. At least three availability zones each. Three named data centres: DC01 neckarsulm, DC08 ellhofen, DC10 ostermiething.
GPU, live pricing
EUR 1.74 to 64.33 / hr
1, 2, 4 and 8 GPU configurations in eu01. The product page does not name the silicon. Installed fleet size is not disclosed.
Certifications
5 listed
ISO/IEC 27001, BSI C5, TSI.STANDARD, DIN EN 50600, ISO 50001.
Operational capacity
Not disclosed
No megawatt figure is published for any existing site. Square metres of white space is not capacity. Figures circulating on aggregator sites claiming roughly 120 MW scaling to 1 GW by 2027 trace to no primary source and should be treated as unfounded.
The published customer list, read carefully
4internal or schwarz ecosystem
8arms-length references
STACKIT publishes twelve references. Keycloak and self-EDI are internal schwarz workloads, and two more sit inside the Dieter Schwarz Stiftung and Heilbronn ecosystem. That leaves three football clubs and roughly five mittelstand firms as arms-length. No DAX industrial is published as a live STACKIT workload.
§ 05
Inside the Lübbenau announcement
Schwarz Digits broke ground at Lübbenau on 17 November 2025, a 13 hectare brownfield site in Brandenburg reusing the grid connection of a dismantled lignite plant.
The EUR 11bn headline covers planning, construction and operations 47, a lifecycle figure with no period attached. Vogel/maschinenmarkt splits it into roughly EUR 2.5bn for construction and the rest for IT over five to fifteen years, single-source. Group investment across all divisions for FY2026 is more than EUR 10bn 1, so EUR 11bn on one site spans many years.
The site plans about 200 MW of initial connected load across six modules, the first three due by the end of 2027, and up to 100,000 AI GPUs at full build. No primary source names a GPU vendor.
There is no state funding, per co-CEO Christian Müller at the groundbreaking 48. Federal digital minister Karsten Wildberger attended.
As of mid 2026 Lübbenau has zero operational capacity, with a 2027 first phase. Schwarz Digits opened its Bad Friedrichshall campus on 21 July 2026, 15.5 hectares. One account gives it room for up to 5,500 employees, another about 3,500.
§ 06
The AI gigafactory bid
No consortium has been selected for an EU AI gigafactory. The EuroHPC joint undertaking is expected to publish the official call in summer 2026, and construction of the first facility to begin in 2027.
A German consortium of Deutsche Telekom, IONOS, SAP, Siemens and Schwarz Gruppe fell apart over leadership and location days before the expression of interest deadline of Friday 20 June 2025 at 17:00 CEST 49. Three parties then filed separately. By December 2025 Telekom and Schwarz were reported in advanced bilateral talks, with Brookfield as a possible financier. No joint press release confirms a signed vehicle.
Telekom's Munich AI facility with Nvidia is roughly 10,000 GPUs and about EUR 1bn. Lübbenau's stated figures are up to 100,000 GPUs and EUR 11bn.
§ 07
Sovereignty is becoming a procurement category
On 13 February 2026 BSI and Schwarz Digits announced a strategic partnership covering sovereign cloud for public administration, cybersecurity monitoring and handling of classified information 50. STACKIT is implementing the VS-NfD requirements during 2026 and is seeking BSI approval to process classified information. It does not hold it.
Three spring 2026 awards, all ceilings. On 17 April 2026 the European Commission awarded up to EUR 180m over six years to four provider groups under cloud III; STACKIT scored SEAL-3. That sum is split four ways and STACKIT's share is not disclosed. The federal digital ministry's roughly EUR 250m sovereign AI platform went to T-Systems with SAP in first place and an SVA-led consortium including STACKIT in second; cio.de reported a 70/30 split, roughly EUR 175m against EUR 75m, Heise says it was not disclosed. On 29 May 2026 Govtech Deutschland awarded a multi-cloud framework of up to EUR 250m to Bechtle AG, with STACKIT in its portfolio. Confirm with both contracting bodies that these are separate procurements.
The commission's cloud and AI development act proposal of 3 June 2026 points the same way and is not yet law.
§ 08
The competition, and the scale problem
AWS launched a European sovereign cloud region in Brandenburg with an EUR 7.8bn investment plan 51. It is generally available now. Schwarz's Brandenburg site's first phase is due at the end of 2027.
AWS reported USD 128.7bn of segment revenue for full-year 2025, up 20 percent, and Amazon flagged capex of roughly USD 200bn. Schwarz Digits' EUR 2.2bn division is under 2 percent of AWS alone.
Synergy research found in July 2025 that European providers hold about 15 percent of their home market, down from about 29 percent in 2017. The three US hyperscalers hold about 70 percent; STACKIT is not named. US leaders invest around EUR 10bn per quarter in European infrastructure, against Lübbenau's EUR 11bn spread over years.
Delos cloud, an SAP subsidiary reselling Microsoft Azure to German administration, ramps to production from 2026. Deutsche Telekom won the federal AI platform ahead of the Schwarz-backed consortium. The merged Cohere and Aleph Alpha entity would run on STACKIT; the deal has not closed.
§ 09
Execution risk
Schwarz Digits announced on 10 July 2026 that Rolf Schumann is leaving by mutual agreement, effective immediately, with Christian Müller assuming sole overall responsibility 50. No successor, no reason given. Schumann fronted the gigafactory push and the Lübbenau groundbreaking.
The commission's cloud sovereignty scale runs SEAL-0 to SEAL-4, which requires a full EU supply chain from chips to software. In the April 2026 award the highest any winner reached was SEAL-3, STACKIT included. STACKIT's GPU page does not name the silicon, and no Nvidia agreement has been announced for the up to 100,000 GPUs planned at Lübbenau.
On 24 April 2026 Cohere of Toronto and Aleph Alpha announced a merger, Schwarz leading Cohere's series E. Schwarz Digits calls it a EUR 500m, approximately USD 600m, structured financing commitment; CNBC reported USD 600m at a combined valuation of roughly USD 20bn. The deal is pending.
No STACKIT revenue figure, no megawatt figure, no GPU fleet size, no audited consolidated group account, and a qualified audit opinion at Lidl.
§ timeline
How a grocer became a cloud provider
2018
2018
stackit is built inside Schwarz IT as internal infrastructure for the group's own digital transformation13
Historical
2021
November 2021
schwarz gruppe acquires cybersecurity firm XM cyber for USD 700m14
Historical
1 December 2021
gerd chrzanowski takes over the general partner mandate from dieter schwarz15
schwarz digits founded as the group's fifth division with about 7,500 employees, bundling Schwarz IT, schwarz digital, stackit, XM cyber, lidl and kaufland e-commerce, schwarz media and mmmake17
Historical
November 2023
companies of schwarz gruppe co-lead a round of more than USD 500m in aleph alpha alongside ipai, bosch ventures, HPE, SAP, burda principal investments and christ&company18
Historical
2024
2024
stackit GmbH & co. KG is founded as its own legal entity; a rename to schwarz digits cloud GmbH & co. KG is planned for 202616
Announced
2025
18 March 2025
BSI states it is pursuing a strategic cooperation with stackit, alongside existing agreements with SAP, oracle and google cloud19
Announced
10 June 2025
microsoft france's anton carniaux tells a french senate inquiry under oath he cannot guarantee french public data will not be transferred to US authorities20
Historical
20 June 2025
the five-company german AI gigafactory consortium of deutsche telekom, ionos, SAP, siemens and schwarz collapses before the EU expression of interest deadline; schwarz, T-Systems and ionos file separately21
Historical
17 November 2025
groundbreaking at lübbenau in brandenburg on a 13 hectare former lignite plant site, EUR 11bn stated investment volume, about 200 MW initial connected load22
Operational
1 December 2025
deutsche telekom and schwarz gruppe reported in advanced talks on a joint AI gigafactory bid, with brookfield named as a possible financier23
Noted
2026
15 January 2026
AWS launches its european sovereign cloud with a first region in brandenburg, EUR 7.8bn stated investment plan24
Operational
28 January 2026
companies of schwarz gruppe announce they will acquire bosch ventures' stake in aleph alpha as long-term anchor investor25
Announced
13 February 2026
BSI and schwarz digits sign a strategic partnership on sovereign cloud for public administration at the munich security conference26
Announced
5 March 2026
crowdstrike and schwarz digits announce a strategic partnership to bring falcon and related products onto stackit27
Announced
17 April 2026
european commission awards a sovereign cloud framework of up to EUR 180m over six years to four provider groups; stackit scores SEAL-328
Framework ceiling
24 April 2026
cohere and aleph alpha announce a merger with Schwarz leading a series E at EUR 500m (about USD 600m); the combined entity is reported to run on stackit29
Announced
20 to 22 may 2026
the federal digital ministry awards a roughly EUR 250m sovereign AI platform across two consortia; T-Systems with SAP first, an SVA-led consortium including schwarz digits and codesphere second30
Noted
28 may 2026
KPN and schwarz digits announce a sovereign dutch cloud region with KPN operating the data centres, expected mid 202731
Announced
29 may 2026
Govtech Deutschland awards a multi-cloud framework of up to EUR 250m to Bechtle AG for the deutschlandplattform and MEDI:CUS, with stackit inside the portfolio32
Framework ceiling
3 June 2026
european commission publishes the cloud and AI development act proposal, including an EU-wide cloud and AI sovereignty assessment framework33
Noted
11 June 2026
schwarz gruppe reports FY2025 revenue of EUR 185.6bn, schwarz digits at EUR 2.2bn, and guides to more than EUR 10bn of investment in FY20261
Announced
Summer 2026
EuroHPC joint undertaking expected to publish the formal AI gigafactory call; no sites or consortia selected to date38
Noted
7 July 2026
stackit unified firewall marked generally available34
Operational
10 July 2026
co-CEO rolf schumann leaves schwarz digits by mutual agreement, effective immediately, after seven years; christian müller becomes sole CEO35
Noted
16 July 2026
the crowdstrike partnership is expanded to cover sovereign cybersecurity across europe36
Announced
21 July 2026
schwarz digits opens its Bad Friedrichshall campus, 15.5 hectares and five buildings, cost not disclosed37
Operational
2027
End 2027
lübbenau phase one, three modules, due for completion7
Announced
2028
2028
lübbenau waste heat at about 50C planned to feed the SÜLL district heating network39
Announced
§ the honest read
What would have to be true
Five things have to be true. Two are.
Money: Lidl's EUR 2,281m net profit, debt down from EUR 12,477m to EUR 9,941m 41. Product: roughly 35 documented services, GPU instances from about EUR 1.74 to EUR 64.33 an hour 34.
Sovereignty has to become a purchasing rule: BSI, SEAL-3, bechtle and SVA are ceilings or slots, no disclosed revenue. Compute has to arrive: Lübbenau has zero operational capacity, first three modules end of 2027. Silicon has to be available: nobody reached SEAL-4, no Nvidia supply arrangement for Lübbenau announced.
Still announced only: the EUR 11bn, the 200 MW, the up to 100,000 GPUs, the gigafactory, the Telekom vehicle, the EUR 500m Cohere commitment, VS-NfD, the Netherlands region. AWS's sovereign cloud went live in Brandenburg on 15 January 2026.
Schwarz Digits is EUR 2.2bn. AWS ran at roughly USD 142bn annualised in Q4 2025.
§ references
Sources
Every figure is numbered to its source. Tap a number in the text to jump here, and the arrow to jump back.
show all 51 sources
1Gruppe.schwarz press release, 11 June 2026 (primary)↩
2Schwarz digits KG konzernabschluss GJ 23/24, lobbyregister.bundestag.de (audited)↩
how current is this. gathered july 2026. schwarz gruppe publishes no consolidated audited group account, so the group revenue figure is a management aggregate while the lidl and kaufland numbers are audited at entity level on a fiscal year ending end of february. those are different perimeters and different years and should not be added together. announced investment figures, in particular the lübbenau headline, are lifecycle numbers covering planning, construction and operations over an unstated period, and must not be read as capex. confirm any figure against its numbered source before relying on it. editorial analysis, not investment advice.